Two years ago you entered my world and I was forever changed.  After all of the fears and worry I had developed about whether you would arrive safe and healthy, you came out kicking and screaming.  You still have an independent and impatient nature when it comes to exploring and experiencing the world around you.  But you are also incredibly loving, creative, and confident.  These are all qualities I hope you can carry with you throughout your lifetime.

  
You are remarkable to me, every time I look at you I notice new ways in which you’ve grown.  You sing songs with me now, last night we had a roaring round of Old McDonald that lasted for about 20 minutes.  You really enjoy Baa Baa Black Sheep too, you can even sing the first two stanzas yourself.  You love to strum daddy’s guitar, and dancing is a reflex you can’t seem to control.

Your compassion and empathy for others shows in many ways.  You get concerned when something sad happens on a show, when Elmo lost his blankie we had to assure you repeatedly that he would get it back.  You patiently (quite a miracle) sat and helped me make favor bags for the NICU nurses and families for your birthday party.  When you see that mommy is tired, you come and rub my back or my tummy the way I do for you.

  
You are fiercely independent.  You want to do everything yourself these days, but there are still moments when you grab my hand and want me next to you.  I treasure these moments, just like I treasure the moments when you come into our room in the middle of the night and cling to me when I pick you up.  In many ways you are turning into a big girl overnight, but when I see you cling to your “ducky” lovey I am reminded that you are still my baby and will always be my little girl.

  
Over the past two years you have shown me my true interests and passions.  You have shown me that I have new options I never knew about before, and you have shown me that it’s not too late to take a new path in life.  I knew becoming a mother would change me, but I had no idea just how much.  I knew my priorities would shift, but I couldn’t fathom how completely altered they would become.  Little girl, you make me want to be a better person, woman, and mother.  For your birthday I promise to live up to responsibility I have been gifted in being your mother.  I love you more than words can say.  Happy 2nd birthday baby girl!

