It’s  almost New Year’s Eve.  I’m not really into the whole resolutions thing.  Instead, I just want to live my whole life with the goals of being a happy and healthy (physically and mentally) person, and having a happy and healthy family.  I do, however, feel like this is a perfect time of year to reflect on our lives and the things that are making us happy or the things that are impeding happiness.  To help you in your reflections I want to share some of the things that currently have my heart full of love and happiness.

List of Love

1.  Little shoes.  I see these little tiny shoes ready and waiting for my girl’s feet in the morning, and they just make me smile.

List of Love-1478

2.  My inner Martha.  I am happy to have rediscovered a love for sewing, especially sewing cute clothes for a little person.  I may have gone a bit overboard buying fabric recently, by I just couldn’t help myself!  Also, necklines, sleeves, and hems and not as scary as I remember.  The trick is to take your time… and find an awesome online tutorial.

List of Love-1497

3.  Books, books EVERYWHERE!  I love reading.  We’ve been reading to Ramona almost every night at bedtime since she was born.  I am now happy to report this indoctrination is paying off as one of her favorite things to do is pull all of her books off their shelves and flip through the pages over and over and over.

List of Love-1493

4.  Microfashion.  I just adore being able to buy tiny versions of clothes that I would wear in my size.  A chunky knit sweater on a chunky baby (although she’s really not so chunky anymore) will get me every time.

List of Love-1473

5.  Hair bows and the head they adorn.  If we ever send her to daycare without a bow in her hair the teachers all ask what happened, it’s kind of become her signature.

List of Love-1480

6.  The joy of discovering more toys.  Because her room is so small I’ve been working to keep it cleaned and organized.  This meant storing a lot of toys underneath the crib, hidden by her crib skirt.  As the saying goes, out of sight, out of mind.  So imagine her delight at lifting up that crib skirt to (re) discover a whole trove of toys previously forgotten about.

List of Love-1492

7.  Glimpse of a girl.  It is unbelievable how much she has grown and changed over the past year.  She’s in that phase where she’s not really a baby anymore, but she’s not quite a little girl.  There are moments, though, when I catch a glimpse of the little girl she is growing into, and I am happy to report that I love what I’m seeing.  A caring, loving, tenacious, ambitious (read determined), happy girl.

Mo Christmas-1439

I hope your family had a wonderful holiday, and I wish you all a happy New Year!

